If you’re gluten intolerant, you may already know what gluten is and have had symptoms which I’m going to discuss in this article. However if you’re one of those individuals who has come across ‘gluten intolerance’ by seeing someone from your social circle who has it or seeing the ‘gluten-free’ label on certain groceries and processed food, and wondered what it is, or suspect you might be intolerant, this article is for you.
So what is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in some grains, primarily in wheat, rye, barley, spelt and oats. Just to simplify, gluten is found in yummy breads, donuts you love and most of the cakes. When one is gluten intolerant, they are not able to tolerate these foods containing gluten.